Economic Cycles

All the economics and cycling you could want.

Finally, Mt. Evans Again

leave a comment »

Over the last couple of years, I’ve been unable to race Mt. Evans for whatever reason. This year I couldn’t race it because we had our 9th annual ATF party out east in Bennet, CO on race day. Hopefully next year I’ll be able to give it a go. I also haven’t actually ridden Evans for a couple of years. The last time I tried, with my Uncle Steve in town, we got shut out because of re-paving. We were only able to get to the visitor center about 18 miles and 11,000 feet up. Anyways, Beefy called me on Friday and suggested I ride Evans with him and a friend on Saturday. I told him about the race happening that day and suggested we all go on Sunday instead. He agreed. It was set. Sunday we’d meet across the street from Squaw Pass – the manly way of climbing Evans by the way – and ride the 33 miles straight up the beast.

Long story short, I felt really good all the way up to the visitor center. I left Beefy a couples miles in because I wanted to ride my own pace. I must have passed 15 or 20 people on the way up just riding solid TEMPO. A couple people rode with me for a bit and we chatted about the perfect weather and perfect scenery all around us. The views were amazing as always. Upon hitting the visitor center to fill bottles, the next 15 miles to the top were less solid. I went from riding zone 3 to zone 2 pretty quickly. Around mile 28, I went to barely eeking out zone 2. In the last couple of miles I was struggling to push 150 watts. It was brutal. I’m not sure what happened to me, but it got really tough in the homestretch. Regardless, I wasn’t concerned with keeping any sort of pace, I was more concerned with taking in the beauty that surrounded me. I took mental snapshots of the incredible landscape, as it turned from lush forest to the rocky moonscape above treeline.

Now for some pictures from the top of the world:

This is "the sign."

Having seen this fortress thing for the second time, I still have no idea what it was.

This is the payoff. A view from the top of the world.

me with sign

The obligatory shot with THE sign. (the sun was in my eyes)

Then on my way down, I came across the BEEF himself:

The Beef almost made it up this time, but the clouds were looking too ominous...

Written by jlongo12

July 25, 2011 at 8:26 am

Posted in cycling

Leave a Reply

