Economic Cycles

All the economics and cycling you could want.

First Real Test – Lookout

leave a comment »

I learned this morning during physical therapy that I’m making some big strides in my recovery. I think I surprised Lee with how far I’ve come since our first session about a month ago. Let’s just say that when he met me I was “one stage above rigor mortis.” Since then, my pelvis has straightened out quite a bit, my muscles have loosened up, and I’m more flexible than I’ve ever been. Therefore, I got the okay to really give a go on the bike after our session ended. He suggested I ride for two hours and give it some gas up Lookout to test my knee. It was a little frightening to think about pushing hard for the first time in over a month, but I was really curious. Besides, we need some sort of indication of where I stand at this point. Am I just marginally better than before? Or am I way ahead of schedule? There’s no way to know without testing my limits.

With that in mind, I headed out to Lookout to ride some zone 3.

A couple thoughts. Man does my position feel strange now that I’m tons more flexible. I feel so loose on the bike. I also feel like I want to be a bit more stretched out. I’m hoping in the coming month or two I can get re-fit by George to take advantage of my new found looseness and range of motion. I also noticed, having not ridden much at all in close to 5 weeks, that I have no lungs anymore. I am severely winded from any sort of sustained marginal effort. It’s quite pathetic. And finally, I noticed that I CAN RIDE 2 HOURS WITH NO PAIN! Hells yeah.

Lee said that if my ride went well this morning that we could probably enter “phase 2” next week. I’m not sure what that entails, but it sure sounds like progress! I’m excited to continue progressing in my recovery and come back stronger than ever.

Written by jlongo12

April 28, 2011 at 9:06 pm

Posted in cycling

Leave a Reply

