Economic Cycles

All the economics and cycling you could want.

Test Spin Success

leave a comment »

Today I was finally able to get out there and give my knee a test spin. It was the first time I had ridden in 3 full weeks. I was forced to stay off the bike completely after I started experiencing pain sooner and sooner on rides. It got to the point where I couldn’t train for 20 minutes without my knee flaring up. Devolving like that over the course of a couple weeks was enough for me to throw my hands up and say, “Fine. I’ll stop.” Now, after 3 solid weeks off and lots of chiropractic care, stretching, PT work, ice, and lying around, I was ready to give it a go again with a test spin. The plan was to spin high cadence, low force for 60 minutes. And that I did.

I ended up doing 63 minutes of pain free spinning today. Granted, that doesn’t really prove much. I still can’t go out and train yet. But it’s a step in the right direction and shows some progress. And frankly, it felt good just to throw some spandex on and rock our team colors. I think I’ll head out tomorrow for another 45 minutes to an hour and see what happens.

Part 2 – Sunday: I went out again today for another 60 minutes of spinning. Thankfully, I experienced exactly no pain at all. Just to be on the safe side however, I iced my knee when I got home. So I guess that proves that I can do 60 minutes of light spinning… TWO DAYS IN A ROW! Wow. That’s almost like training right??

Written by jlongo12

April 16, 2011 at 1:57 pm

Posted in cycling

Leave a Reply

