Economic Cycles

All the economics and cycling you could want.

Broken Crank = Knee Troubles?

leave a comment »

Wow, what a difference a day makes. Last night I went over Bailey’s house to put on a new chain, cables and housing. Bailey is like my Mr. Miyagi when it comes to learning how to fix stuff on my own bike. Anyways, at the end of the process, Bailey discovers that my right pedal is extremely loose. And it’s not because my pedal was bent or not properly tightened, it was because the insert on my crank that holds the pedal was loose and thus, my pedal was sagged down and floppy instead of being held level. Meaning, I’ve been pedaling for who knows how long with my right foot completely out of whack. Instead of pedaling with my foot level, I’ve been pedaling with my foot at an angle where my little toe is pointing towards the ground. Knee problems? OF COURSE.

It’s funny because I was reading up on tendinitis the other night, and lots of articles mentioned that knee tendinitis can be brought on through incorrect foot pronation, due to incorrect cleat placement or a plain old bad bike fit. This is exactly what has been happening to me over these last couple weeks because of my broken crank! I’m glad I found out now!

Moral of the story is, I’ve bought a Cannondale Hollowgram crank to replace my busted old crank. I believe that my knee problems will finally go away now that I won’t be pedaling at such a severe angle. Hopefully I can send my broken crank back to Cannondale for a warranty. Either way, I’m glad I’ve gotten to the bottom of this. If this does indeed fix my knee issues, it will be a huge weight lifted off my shoulders.

Written by jlongo12

March 16, 2011 at 1:25 pm

Posted in cycling

Leave a Reply

