Economic Cycles

All the economics and cycling you could want.

The Cat’s Outta the Bag

leave a comment »

I’ve been kind of an asshole this whole week. Something has been weighing heavily on my mind. I’ve been stressing, nervous, bummed, and scared about my right knee. Yeah, I bonked the hell out of it a few weeks ago at Jordo’s house, but it has nothing to do with that. Let me see if I can explain.

***On second thought, it could have everything to do with bonking my knee at Jordo’s house. I destroyed my knee cap right in the middle on the top, almost exactly where it is currently hurting. I probably had some severe swelling because it hurt to walk on it for several days. Then I went to NM and did a huge amount of volume. So much so, it could have agitated whatever swelling was still unresolved. It’s depressing to think that I may have just put my whole season in jeopardy because of a basement training session.***

At the end of last Saturday’s epic Worlds and High Grade adventure, Cam, Bachik, and I went to that really good sandwich shop. After finishing our sandwiches, we hopped on our bikes and rode home. Sounds normal right. Except I rode the 10 miles home in my own world of knee pain hell. Every pedal stroke was hurting the hell out of my upper knee cap. It’s hard to describe, but its the very top of my knee cap, mostly in the middle. It almost feels like there is swelling under the cap and when I bend my knee to pedal, it agitates it.

When I finally got home, I was really scared. I have never had knee pain (or any other type of pain) in my life. I had just come off nearly 20 hours in 4 days in New Mexico and a rest week. How could 6 hours on a Saturday suddenly bother my knee when almost 20 hours in 4 days didn’t? It didn’t make sense. I broke down and told Brika my problem and she advised me to ice it that night. It was not much better after icing. It still felt really sore and it still hurt when I bent it to walk. Not good.

Like a complete moron, I went to practice the next day and rode for an hour and half in knee pain hell. It was such a stupid move. My knee was throbbing by the end of it. But I didn’t tell anyone about it. I felt like if I kept it to myself, it would just go away. Yeah, like I said, I was being an idiot. I limped around the rest of Sunday night and went to work the following day with it still bothering me a bit. Thankfully I was okay to do my intervals on Tuesday and Thursday this week. Doing just an hour or so on the trainer wasn’t long enough to bother it. I was hoping that it was just a fluke, and whatever it might have been had worked itself out. I was looking forward to having a normal Saturday today.

Nope.

Today’s Worlds was not only my worst showing of the year, the cherry on top was that my knee started bothering me at the end of it. We were around 2.5 hours in, and guys were getting ready to climb High Grade. All I could think about was how bad I would be hurting by the top of the climb. So I did the smart thing and pulled the plug. I figured by the time I got home 25 miles later, that would be about as much as I could take. Now I’m sitting here writing this blog with ice on my knee. I’m still not sure what the hell is going on, but I do have a couple of theories.

After talking to Welker, what may have happened was that my knee became really agitated after the huge amount of volume I did in New Mexico. It took a little over 5 hours of riding the following Saturday to reveal the accumulated swelling under the top of my knee cap. What I’m going to try to do is ice it and take some Aleve in hopes that it is just swelling. After icing it after each ride and taking Aleve this week, I’ll give it another go next Saturday – if I don’t feel any pain in the morning. Hopefully I can make it for the full ride.

This whole knee thing has been weighing on my mind all week and I’ve been in kind of a funk because of it. Every so often it would dawn on me and I’d get really upset thinking about all the different scenarios of what it might be. I sort of convinced myself that my riding finally caught up to me and now I was done. Like the knee pain was going to be permanent. Of course I kept going over the worst possible scenarios in my head. It was a viscous cycle of freaking out and being upset. And the worst thing is, I kept it all inside hoping that not talking about it would somehow make it all less real.

I guess what I’m trying to say is if I’ve been a dick to you at all this week, I apologize. This whole injury thing is really new for me and honestly it scared the shit out of me. I’m going to try my best to figure this out. Hopefully it doesn’t take away from my training. March is a really critical month.

Written by jlongo12

March 5, 2011 at 2:05 pm

Posted in cycling

Leave a Reply

