Economic Cycles

All the economics and cycling you could want.

From Hip Hop to Pop-Punk

with one comment

I’m going to switch gears a little bit and talk music for this post. I don’t think I’ve even written about music yet. Crazy huh? Anyway, I was on quite the hip hop kick the last couple months due to the new Kanye West record and the mix tape that accompanies it. I got the G.O.O.D. FRIDAYS mix tape from Ben awhile back and it is very good. It has several of the same tracks that are on his new album, just different verses and artists – aka RE-MIX! So I got into the mix tape and then transitioned smoothly into his new record, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. I’m not sure which record I like more. Of course the studio album is more cohesive, but the mix tape has some pretty amazing stand alone tracks and a ton of great cameos. Talib Kweli, Jay-Z, Pusha T, Common, Lupe, Kid Cudi, and John Legend just to name a few. Plus, the version of Power on the mix tape features Jay-Z prominently, which equals awesomeness. Unlike a lot of remixes, Kanye does a great job of making his remixes nearly as good (and sometimes better) than his original tracks. In the end, I’d say it’s a wash. Get both the studio album and the mix tape.

Since coming off my hip hop kick, I’ve been on a monster pop-punk kick. I think it was seeing Chris Conley live that did it for me. That show conjured up a lot of old pop-punk feelings, plus I’ve been talking pop-punk history with Applebottom a lot lately. This translates to many listens of Saves the Day, Two Tongues, The Wonder Years, and the Saves the Day acoustic stuff. I still think STD’s Through Being Cool is a top 5 album for life.

Who is this Two Tongues you speak of Justin? Glad you asked. Two Tongues is a side project from Chris Conley and Max Bemis (of Say Anything). They’ve come out with one s/t record so far and I must admit, it’s pretty good. And “pretty good” is about as good as it gets for inter-band side projects. You can definitely hear the influence of both STD and Say Anything throughout it. They also do a good job of trading off vocals.

Another pop-punk band I’d highly recommend that I haven’t mentioned yet is Hit The Lights. Another band I really enjoy thanks to Ben. As Ben says, they’ve mastered the halftime catchy chorus. I’d start with Skip School, Start Fights and then work backwards through their discography. You will love it, unless you hate really catchy music.

Addendum: I just got the newish Cee Lo Green. Holy. Awesome. Am I now going to be on a neo-soul kick??

Written by jlongo12

February 10, 2011 at 11:53 am

Posted in music

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. if neo-soul is going to be your new thing, you should check out the new adele album. it can be found here:http://hypetrak.com/2011/02/adele-21-full-album-stream/

    Brian

    February 13, 2011 at 12:06 am


Leave a Reply

