Economic Cycles

All the economics and cycling you could want.

Genetics: Life’s Limiter

leave a comment »

Remember that classic Eddie Merckx quote in response to someone asking him the “secret” to becoming a great cyclist? “Ride lots.” Turns out, the great Italian cyclist Fausto Coppi said something similar years earlier when asked how to train. “Ride a bike, ride a bike, ride a bike.” Aldo Sassi, in his typical brilliant way, made an addendum to Coppi’s remark – and at the same time, whether he knew it or not – to Merckx’s remark: “but first choose your parents carefully!”

There are a million great cycling quotes out there. (Phil Liggett is a source of at least one million quotes himself). One of my other favorites is Greg LeMond’s classic: “It never gets easier. You just go faster.” And like Applebottom told me, almost the entire book, “The Rider” is quotable.

I don’t know why I’m writing about this, but I guess I was inspired by Aldo Sassi’s addition to the “ride your bike” training advice. Genetics play a huge part in how much we can achieve in nearly every area of our life. Don’t believe me? Try becoming a scientist with your awkwardly low IQ. Better yet, forget the NFL, try making your high school varsity football team as QB while standing 5 feet 7 inches tall. It ain’t happening. No team wants a QB that can’t see over the linemen.

Cycling is no different. I’ll never be great. In fact, I’ll never be really good. All I can hope for is getting as close to my physical ability as possible, while having as much fun as possible.

That is success.

Written by jlongo12

December 15, 2010 at 2:07 pm

Posted in cycling

Leave a Reply

