Economic Cycles

All the economics and cycling you could want.

A Promising Start

with one comment

For my first official post, I think I have to talk about cycling and my training thus far this off season. This Sunday marks the end of my four-day training block of death. Thanks to Thanksgiving, I’ve logged some serious hours in the saddle the last four days and damn does it feel good (read: sore). From the numbers I hit on Friday, I am way ahead of where I thought I’d be at this point. Thanks Coach!

Quick overview of my past four day block:

Thanksgiving Thursday – Did 1.5 hours on the trainer while watching the end of A Prophet. Did 3 x 12min at LT. It was tough. Then did 30 minutes of gym work, mostly stretching and core stuff.

Friday – Rode with Brian and his father-in-law. Did Lookout the long way with Brian. Held 270 watts for 33 minutes (that’s 4.29 watts/kg for you geeks out there). This was definitely a breakthrough. For the record, my goal is to have my LT at 285 (4.52 watts/kg) by the start of the Gila. That goal is looking very possible at this point. Ended the day with 3.5 hours in the bank with tons of solid LT and TEMPO work.

Saturday – Primal team ride. We rode the Worlds course and went back home via Chatfield and Garrison Rd. Speaking of Garrison, man do I miss Gregg. Was pretty darn sore from the day before so I held TEMPO pace as much as I could. Did almost no LT work. Ended the day with 4.5 hours.

Sunday – Sore, sore, sore. Rode down to Wash Park and through Cherry Hills via Quincy. Caught some great views of the Rockies and lots of good endurance work. Logged a solid 3 hours in total, lots of it in zone 2.

In total, I managed to get in 14 hours this week. First time I’ve hit that number this side of 2010. Definitely liking my progress so far. I also realized that when I leave the house at 7:45am, I need something to cover my neck and face. I went ahead and bought this awesome 3 in 1 beanie thing that unfortunately a douchey doper uses. Oh well. Clenbuterol or not, I won’t be coming home with a red face anymore.

As frustrating as it is sometimes to only ride with cat 2’s and 3’s, it is probably making me better faster. Although I admit I’m looking forward to finally meeting my fellow 4’s at our team meeting in December. Not to mention getting to see next year’s kit!

Written by jlongo12

November 29, 2010 at 5:20 am

Posted in cycling

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] out of a super strong Thanksgiving block of training had me going into this weekend pretty optimistic of what I was capable of doing. I […]


Leave a Reply

