Economic Cycles

All the economics and cycling you could want.

Justin Longo’s Tarmac SL4 Pro

leave a comment »

I’ll say it up front: I haven’t ridden the steed outside yet. But, I wanted to give it its due with my attempt at a CyclingNews esque Pro Bike review.

First a little background. I’ve been riding an ’08 Cannondale SuperSix with Ultegra SL on it for… let’s do some quick math… carry the 1… ah ok, 4 years now. It’s been a great bike in every respect. I haven’t had any issues with the frame or any of my components. (Well, that’s not entirely true. I broke one of the inserts on my crank last off season and that set off my knee issues. But, in my crank’s defense, my knee issues would have reared their ugly head eventually. The crank only accelerated the rearing part). Nevertheless, it’s all worked very well for me these past few years. But the idea of having just one bike has always made me uneasy. What if I were to go down? What if someone knocked my bike over and cracked something? What if my steer tube broke a ‘la George Hincapie? Thankfully, luck was on my side and nothing major ever happened. I decided last year that I’d wait one more year, then get a new bike – hopefully with the ability to build it up independently of my SuperSix. Thus, TWO whole bikes!

And here we are. A year later and I’ve got two bikes. Team Primal put in our orders for our new Specialized bikes in October with the idea that we’d get our new rigs come January, possibly later. I decided against getting the Tarmac SL4 built up with Force and opted to get just the frame. I figured I could pick up slightly used Force or Ultegra 6700 on Craigslist. (I was right). Anyhow, my bike came in December, slightly ahead of schedule. Hooray!

From the time I ordered the bike, I made a list of the parts I would need to build up the SL4 and keep the Six fully intact. Over the course of a couple of months I was able to get everything I needed at super deal pricing. In the end, most of what I got came from Craigslist (thanks Jimi!) and the other stuff I got from Bike Source. The only thing I switched over from the old bike was my Hollowgram crank. When my bike finally arrived in December, I was ready to start building that bad boy up. I asked BABs to help me out and he obliged. We knocked it out over the course of a couple nights. I learned quite a lot. Thanks bud!

The next call I made was to George Mullen for my annual bike fit. He slotted me in right away and we ironed out my position on my new bike. I ended up keeping the same saddle to bar drop (10cm) as before but with a slightly longer reach (about 1.5cm). Turns out, I not only have really long legs, I have really long arms too. My wingspan is a few inches longer than my height. I can’t wait to take out the new steed and do a real fast descent in my new, more stretched out position. I’ve been wanting a longer position for awhile and now I’ve got it.

Ok, enough talk. Let’s get down to business. You and I both know why you’re here. You came to see some bike prOn. I’m here to show it.

Frame: Specialized FACT 10r carbon, FACT IS construction
Fork: Specialized FACT carbon, full monocoque
Seatpost: Specialized Pro, FACT carbon, 27.2mm
Headset: 1-1/8″ upper and 1-3/8″ lower Cr-Mo cartridge bearings, w/ 8mm carbon cone spacer
Bottom bracket: BB30
Stem: Specialized Pro Set 130mm, -17
Handlebars: FSA Wing Pro, 44cm
Tape: Fizik white pro logo
Grip: Hudz Roubaix red
Brakes: Ultegra 6700
Derailleurs: Ultegra 6700
Crank: Cannondale Hollowgram, 50/34
Cassette: Sram Red 1090, 11-26
Chain: Ultegra 6700
Pedals: Ultegra PD-6700 carbon
Wheels: Kinlin rims, Sapim Cx-Ray spokes, Powertap Pro+
Tires: Specialized all condition armadillo elite
Saddle: Fizik Antares
Bottle cages: Blackburn carbon
Computer: Garmin Edge 800

Money side shot

Look at that bottom bracket!

The cockpit.

Fizik Aliante awesomeness.

The "watt meter" as Paul Sherwin would say.

Head on.

Sorry for the camera phone pics. I really didn’t want to deal with a slightly crappy digital camera. I should also mention that despite having two whole bikes now, I still only have one set of wheels. So if anything were to ever happen to them… let’s not think about that.

As you can see below, the Six has been relegated to the bike stand in between rides. Actually, the SL4 sits on the bike stand much more often than the old bike. I will not ride the new steed on my trainer. Or when it’s slightly wet outside. Or when it might snow the following weekend.

The bike bullpen.

Written by jlongo12

January 19, 2012 at 7:48 pm

Posted in cycling

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

